New Year’s Resolutions

“We will open the book. Its pages are blank. We are going to put words on them ourselves. The book is called Opportunity and its first chapter is New Year’s Day.”
 Edith Lovejoy Pierce

Let me start off by saying I hate people that shoot down the “new year, new me” mentality. Yes, January 1st is just a day and one day does not make a whole new person, but for many the thought of a New Year really is a fresh start, their time to forget the past year and start anew. If you don’t think that New Years is a jumping off point for a new beginning that’s fine, but don’t shoot down those that do or discourage them from making resolutions….support those around you in everything they do.

That being said, I have had my fair share of failed resolutions for many different reasons. This year I am hoping I do a little bit better and maybe writing them down for the “world” to see will help motivate me. So here are my New Year’s Resolutions….

1. I will lose 40 lbs by the end of the semester.                                                                                                 I would like to be able to say that the Freshman 15 crept up on me but I would only be so lucky for it to be ONLY the Freshman 15. Truth be told, since I entered college in 2011 I have gained about 70 lbs. Admittedly when I came into college I was a little on the scrawny side and maybe looked a little unhealthy. So while I don’t want to return to that point, I also am not happy with where I am today. This means that I will have to get over my hatred for exercise and my love for taco bell (that hurt to say) but it is necessary in order for me to be happy with myself physically.

2. I will earn a 4.0 GPA this semester.                                                                                                                      I by no means struggle academically. I have earned a 3.75 GPA thus far in my college career which is something that I am very proud of. However, I know that I am capable of better work and capable of earning a 4.0 this semester. I need to improve my time management skills and cut back on my procrastination. My biggest challenge, however, is taking classes out of my major and the less challenging classes more seriously. If I can do that then I know that I will achieve this goal.

3. Be a better me!                                                                                                                                                                 Yes, I know, how cliche can I be? I won’t go into huge detail here but everyday I want to work on being a better me than the day before, in every sense of the word. I want to be a better friend, boyfriend, son, brother, nephew, cousin, student, citizen, leader and any other identifier that has been attached to me.

This is what I hope to accomplish for at least the first half of the year. I will no doubt slip up at points but now that I have this post to refer back to I can have a constant reminder as to what I want to accomplish I think I have a pretty good shot at it this year.

On campus I am a Peer Advisor which is essentially a mentor for first year students. One of the most important things I do with them is known as a Personal Success Plan. This is a worksheet that they fill out with what their goals will be for their freshman year. I think what makes this so successful is that they walk away with a copy of their goals and the steps they identified would help them get there. I will use this post as my own version of a Personal Success Plan and hopefully refer back to it often.

 

-I am Starting Fresh.

 

 

Leave a Reply

