A farewell to Maracanã

Today we headed to our third and final match at the iconic Maracana stadium to watch Belgium play Russia.

While I didn’t really have a dog in this fight as Professor Hamakawa would say, it was still another amazing opportunity in Maracana. While sitting in the stands we were surrounded by Belgian fans and one offered to paint my face with their flag, so of course I had to say yes! 20140622-210946-76186903.jpg
With their flag on my face I quickly caught Belgian fever (if that’s a thing). Most of the game went scoreless until the 85th minute when Belgium scored and won 1-0!! I got high gives from Belgians all around me and they embraced me as their own!

It was a great way to say goodbye see you later to Estadio do Maracanã!

On our way home from the match we stopped at a giant festival celebrating Brazilian culture. We had more delicious Brazilian food, heard Brazilian music and saw a little Brazilian dancing!

20140622-211558-76558402.jpg

We finished off the day by watching the US vs Portugal game back in our hotel where we hoped to see the US secure a spot in the round of 16 with a win over Ronaldo and his Portugal squad. Admittedly, I did not have much faith in the US to get past Portugal, and they almost proved me wrong. The match was back and forth with the US and Portugal trading goals. Then Clint Dempsey put the US ahead 2-1 and the clock was winding down. The ref added 5 minutes of stoppage time and at about 44:30 it looked like the US was about to pull out the upset. Then Ronaldo got the ball and he did what he has done time after time, made a great play. With one of the most beautiful crosses I’ve ever seen he set up his teammate for a goal as time expired. It was deflating for US fans but at the same time, nobody can deny the perfection of that pass. It’s not called the group of death for nothing…

Tomorrow is our last full day in Rio, and I have to stop typing their so my tears don’t damage my keyboard.

Leave a Reply

